Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    47

    Unanswered: DTS- excel option missing

    I am a senior DBA using SQL Server 2000.

    I just did a clean install of SQL 2000 Personal edition. I am trying to DTS an excel file in but the excel icon is not there!!!!! There are the other excel ODBC sources but they each require me to setup a DSN (not normal!!!)

    Anyone had this problem before? I am uninstalling and reinstalling.

    -Kevin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I don't understand...DTS in or out?

    Are you using the wizard?

    When open the menu option connection, what do you see?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    47
    I am trying to import with DTS.
    When I choose the "source" drop down list I am expecting to see a little excel icon with Excel 97-2000 next to it.

    I see a bunch of data direct closed icons and the excel treiber , and the WINSQL excel workbook. All of those options require me to define a DSN.

    The normal excel option just lets you choose the excel file.

    ?!?!?!?!?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    So you're in EM and you right click on DTS and SELECT

    >>ALL Tasks >>IMPORT DATA...

    Then you use the wizard and change the data source drop down...

    and you don't see the teal "X" for Excel?

    It's half way down the list...

    What if you try to build one from scratch?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    47
    No luck.


    I am going to try to do it with Informatica.
    I applied mdac 2.8 and SP3a.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,799
    Provided Answers: 11
    Do you have excel installed on the local machine?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    47
    Yes. Thanks for your help. I found another work-around using Erwin instead of SQL Server.
    Thanks anyway.

    -Kevin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •