Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Having Some Issues Migrating to a New Server

    The Setup: I'm moving a SQL Server 7 Database from a SQL Server sp'd somewhere between 3 and 4 (7.00.1028) to a SQL Server without any service packs. The old machine is a Dell PowerEdge 2400 (about 3 years old) and the new machine is a Dell PowerEdge 2650 with dual gigabit nics (and I have them teamed). Both machines run Windows 2000 Server. Mostly default installation on both the OS and SQL Server.

    The Problem: When I restore the database to the new server (and resolve the orphaned login issues, etc.) the server hangs unbelievably. Most of my users can't even connect, much less work in their vb apps. I can ping the machine, but can't run the simplest T-SQL against it.

    Any ideas?

    Help would be greatly appreaciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Any information from SQL Server error log, event viewer and any other logs that can help to assess the situation.

    Ensure to upgrade to latest service pack on SQL & OS.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Originally posted by Satya
    Any information from SQL Server error log, event viewer and any other logs that can help to assess the situation.

    Ensure to upgrade to latest service pack on SQL & OS.
    Log showed that SQL Server had been installed before sys tech changed the name of the machine . . . think that may be the problem as log was reporting old name instead of new name. Removed SQL Server and reinstalling . . . we'll see . . .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    If the hostname is changed then you must use SP_DROPSERVER & SP_ADDSERVER to take affect the new name.

    Refer to books online for more information.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Originally posted by Satya
    If the hostname is changed then you must use SP_DROPSERVER & SP_ADDSERVER to take affect the new name.

    Refer to books online for more information.
    Thanks a bunch for the info . . . will let you know if that was the problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Several issues, but the most obvious one to address first is to install SP3 before you start restoring the database. Any hidden reason why it was not done in the first place?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Originally posted by rdjabarov
    Several issues, but the most obvious one to address first is to install SP3 before you start restoring the database. Any hidden reason why it was not done in the first place?
    Tech who started the job thought that he could just install it after the db had been restored. I've since brought the current server to sp4 and upgraded the new server to sp4 as well. MS says this should not be a problem (restoring sp3 database to nosp server), but they've given me bad advice before!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    The reason they said it because you certainly can do it. The trick is that you shouldn't

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    Talking

    Originally posted by rdjabarov
    The reason they said it because you certainly can do it. The trick is that you shouldn't
    No Doubt.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Trying to restore a database to another server with a prior service pack level is a very bad idea. I've lost lots of hair that way!

    MS-SQL 7 sp3 actually changed the structure of some system tables (sysindexes if I remember right, and possibly others). Restoring a post sp3 database to a "gold" server will effectively "lock the box", or at least it did that for me.

    -PatP

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Originally posted by Pat Phelan
    Trying to restore a database to another server with a prior service pack level is a very bad idea. I've lost lots of hair that way!

    MS-SQL 7 sp3 actually changed the structure of some system tables (sysindexes if I remember right, and possibly others). Restoring a post sp3 database to a "gold" server will effectively "lock the box", or at least it did that for me.

    -PatP
    Sounds exactly like our case here.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Reza Bashash

    you need to find to get SP3
    ______________________________
    Reza Bashash www.bashash.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    You can download SP3 for ver.7 from MS homepage or if not search under google.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •