Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: Oracle8i on Windows XP Prof.

    I am installing Oracle8i on Windows xp prof. But when i restart the system, Oracle8i service is not automatically running. I have to resort to starting Database manually.

    Could any one tell me what is the problem and how to solve it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Hi,

    Set

    ControlPanel->AdminTools->Services->OracleService<SID>->properties->StartupType

    To Automatic

    Hth
    Bill
    Please don't email me directly with questions. I've probably just got home from the pub and cannot guarantee the sanity of my answers. In fact, I can't believe I actually made it home.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    113
    Hi ,
    U have another way of doing that.

    Just drop the instance and recreate it with startmode as auto.


    Kaushik

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    273
    Originally posted by kausik_m123
    Hi ,
    U have another way of doing that.

    Just drop the instance and recreate it with startmode as auto.


    Kaushik
    You should prefer EDIT option instead of DELETE.
    Bhavin

    MS Computer Science
    OCP DBA 9i/8i

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4

    Service is already set to Automatic

    Hai,

    Thanks for your reply. But it is a fresh installation and startup mode of OracleService is already set to Automatic.

    What could be the problem.

    Thank you,
    P.Srikanth.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    113
    Check ur Oracle_sid environmental variable.

    Go to registry entry (Regedit)
    Check under Hkey_local_machine>Software> Oracle> Home0 there should be string value called Ora_<ur sid>_Autostart
    ie if ur sid is ORCL then it should be
    ORA_ORCL_AUTOSTART. The value of this string should be true.
    If such string is not present in ur registry create one in the specified and restart ur machine .

    Hope this helps.

    Kaushik

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •