Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    20

    Exclamation Unanswered: how can i change db2admin password?

    Hello!

    I have installed DB2 v 8.1 and now i want to change the password for db2admin. What should i have to do in DB2 in order to change the password for db2admin?
    Should i change then the password for Windows db2admin user?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    278

    Steps

    Hi,

    You can go ahead and change the password by 2 ways.

    1. Change the password in the user management. Then go ahead and change the password entries Logon Tab in all the services panel for each of the db2 services.

    2. CONNECT TO SAMPLE USERB2ADMIN USING:OLDPWD
    NEW:NEWPWD

    I am sure of the first and i recommend that.

    Regards

    Nitin.
    HTH

    Nitin

    Ask the experienced rather than the learned

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    20
    Thank you.

    Can you give me the db2 command line set of instructions for changing db2admin password? Or how can i go to "user management"?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Hyderabad, India
    Posts
    9
    Hi.

    To go to User management:

    Click Start->Control Panel->User Accounts.
    Click on db2admin account and you will find the option to reset.

    To go to Command prompt,

    Click Start->Programs->IBM Db2->Command Line Tools->Command Window.

    Hope you are using windows OS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    20
    Hello


    For changing DB2admin password all i need to do is to change db2admin passwd from Windows?


    Thanks


    Originally posted by mssk
    Hi.

    To go to User management:

    Click Start->Control Panel->User Accounts.
    Click on db2admin account and you will find the option to reset.

    To go to Command prompt,

    Click Start->Programs->IBM Db2->Command Line Tools->Command Window.

    Hope you are using windows OS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    20

    Re: Steps

    Hello

    All i need to do is to change the db2admin password from db2admin Windows user ?

    Thanks


    Originally posted by nitingm
    Hi,

    You can go ahead and change the password by 2 ways.

    1. Change the password in the user management. Then go ahead and change the password entries Logon Tab in all the services panel for each of the db2 services.

    2. CONNECT TO SAMPLE USERB2ADMIN USING:OLDPWD
    NEW:NEWPWD

    I am sure of the first and i recommend that.

    Regards

    Nitin.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,605
    Hi,

    DB2 uses the Windows security userid and password. So you need to change Windows password!

    Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    20
    Thank you verry much


    Originally posted by grofaty
    Hi,

    DB2 uses the Windows security userid and password. So you need to change Windows password!

    Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •