Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VLookup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    18

    Unanswered: VLookup

    Hi,

    I'm having trouble getting this to work.

    I have on sheet 1 an IF function which assign a value between 1 to 5 dependant on criteria.

    On sheet 2 I want to lookup this value against my lookup table (hr) and return the value in column 2, hence

    =VLOOKUP('Sheet 1'!W37,hr,2,FALSE)

    But I keep getting #N/A.

    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    18
    Hi,

    i've even tried =IF() with this and it still wont work. Has this got something to do with the original If function. Can't I compare this to anything else?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,091
    How is the cell formatted with the IF statement on Sheet1? Also, it might be that your criteria are not correct. Can you post the entire IF statement?
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

    Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

    How to ask a question on forums

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    116
    It might be that the comparison data are not the same type. Meaning one is text and the other numeric. I usually do a test with
    istext(cell range)

    do this on both the bolded areas in question.
    =VLOOKUP('Sheet 1'!W37 ,hr,2,FALSE)


    HTH
    texasalynn

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    133
    Just at a glance, the default name of the first sheet doesn't have a space between Sheet and 1. Also, I don't think the single quotes should be there.

    Try:

    =VLOOKUP(Sheet1!W37,hr,2,FALSE)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,091
    Originally posted by bmacr
    Just at a glance, the default name of the first sheet doesn't have a space between Sheet and 1. Also, I don't think the single quotes should be there.

    Try:

    =VLOOKUP(Sheet1!W37,hr,2,FALSE)
    If the space is in the name, then the single quote is needed.
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

    Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

    How to ask a question on forums

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •