Angry Unanswered: ByRef error confusion - VBA

I am self taught in Access and VBA so maybe I missed something that is obvious to someone else. I am completely stumped. Here is the situation:

I have a custom function with one argument, an integer.....

Public Function test1(a As Integer) As Integer
    test1 = a + 1
    End Function

From a different module, I try to call the function......

Private Sub Command15_Click()
    Dim t1, t2 As Integer
    t1 = 3
    t2 = test1(t1)
    Me!Text1 = t1
    Me!Text2 = t2
    End Sub

When I compile the code, I get "Compile error: ByRef argument type mismatch" and it highlights the "t1" in the line "t2=test1(t1)". I do not understand why I am getting this error. I am passing an integer and the argument is declared as an integer in my function "test1". I ALSO WANT TO KNOW WHY THE FOLLOWING CHANGES ELIMINATE THE ERROR!?!?!?!?!?:

If I force evaluation of t1 by putting an extra set of parenthesis around it, there is no error....

t2=test1((t1)) '---> NO ERROR

Also, if I declare t1 separately there is no error....

Dim t1 As Integer
    Dim t2 As Integer '-----> NO ERROR

IN THE END I WAS ABLE TO COMPILE THE CODE BY DECLARING t1 AND t2 SEPARATELY (as above) BUT IT IS DRIVING ME CRAZY BECAUSE I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THE DIFFERENCE IS BETWEEN

"Dim t1, t2 As Integer"
    AND
    "Dim t1 As Integer
    Dim t2 As Integer"

OR WHY THIS ELIMINATED THE ByRef ERROR I WAS GETTING!! SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN BEFORE I THROW MY PC THROUGH A WINDOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Talking Nevermind

Apparently "Dim t1, t2 as Integer" declares only t2 as an integer and leaves t1 Variant. I think declaring variables like this (a list followed by a type for all in the list) worked in Pascal which is probably where I picked it up. In any case, confusion alleviated so nevermind. I needed to code "Dim t1 as Integer, t2 as Integer"

Re: ByRef error confusion - VBA

Originally posted by michael515