Wink Unanswered: Incorrect Syntax Error

hi. i am relatively new to sql. i am wondering how to resolve my "incorrect syntax error" on an IP Address string i am trying to add.
    the table has IPAddress as data type "text" and length 16 (which won't let me change the length). It seems that sql is looking for a data type with no more than one decimal (money, float, etc). How do i resolve this? thanks in advance. Peter

Provided Answers: 54
    You need to change the datatype of the column. This can be done using SQL Enterprise Mangler or the ALTER TABLE ALTER COLUMN command from SQL Query Analyzer.

-PatP

Hi. THanks for the reply. Well, i am new to sql but not that new. i have tried changing the data type a number of times. I tried varchar, text, nvarchar, and a few others. I did this in the designer view of the SQL EM. I still get the same response... "incorrect syntax error". For numerical data types that expect one decimal place, i understand this, but i don't get why i am getting this error for string-like data types such as var char, etc. more suggestions appreciated.

Originally posted by Pat Phelan
    You need to change the datatype of the column. This can be done using SQL Enterprise Mangler or the ALTER TABLE ALTER COLUMN command from SQL Query Analyzer.

-PatP

Provided Answers: 54
    This requires the "digital ball pein" to fix it, because you can't change the type of a TEXT, NTEXT, or IMAGE column. The following script demonstrates:
    PHP Code:
    CREATE TABLE dbo.foo2 (

fooId    INT        IDENTITY
    ,  thingie    TEXT

)
    GO

ALTER TABLE dbo
    .foo2
       ALTER COLUMN thingie VARCHAR
    (20)    -- ServerMsg 4928Level 16State 1Line 1
    --                                         Cannot alter column 'thingie' because it is 'text'.
    GO

CREATE TABLE dbo
    .foo3 (

fooId    INT        IDENTITY
    ,  thingie    VARCHAR(20)
       )
    GO

INSERT INTO dbo
    .foo3 (thingie)

SELECT thingie
          FROM dbo
    .foo2