Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Belfast, UK
    Posts
    87

    Unanswered: Audit trail problem.

    Hi everyone

    I've used the link on the following thread to create a functional(partly) audit trail, at the minute it will create a trail for new records but not existing records held in the backend.

    http://<br /> <a href="http://www.d...udit</a><br />

    can anyone help me with this?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: Audit trail problem.

    Originally posted by bertthefreak
    Hi everyone

    I've used the link on the following thread to create a functional(partly) audit trail, at the minute it will create a trail for new records but not existing records held in the backend.

    http://<br /> <a href="http://www.d...udit</a><br />

    can anyone help me with this?

    Thanks!
    More than likely you'll have to run a separate process to create a backtrail for your existing data ... How important is this? What I generally do is when something new is added like this I state that prior history is not available prior to this date ... The intersting question: How do you propose to construct the audit history from static records? How much detail do you trace as part of the audit?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Belfast, UK
    Posts
    87

    I'm trying to record everything as

    Basically I'm tracking everything in two tables, I'm using a query to link the tables on the form. this way all changes are processed through the query and can then be tracked on one audit table.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: I'm trying to record everything as

    Originally posted by bertthefreak
    Basically I'm tracking everything in two tables, I'm using a query to link the tables on the form. this way all changes are processed through the query and can then be tracked on one audit table.
    Bert,

    "Everything" can mean that or nothing at all ... What does everything mean to you (in relation to what you're audit trailing)? Again, quantify how much info you're saving ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Belfast, UK
    Posts
    87
    I'm saving all the fields in both tables for each record being updated or deleted in the audit table.

    What i think might be happening is that the existing record is not activating the function to create the audit trail but the new records (being opened using same method) are.

    Sorry If i'm not explaining this right.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    78

    Re: Audit trail problem.

    The link you provided is not working for me. Is it working for anyone else? can someone repost if it is not?


    Thanks!

    Muchly appreciated.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Originally posted by bertthefreak
    I'm saving all the fields in both tables for each record being updated or deleted in the audit table.

    What i think might be happening is that the existing record is not activating the function to create the audit trail but the new records (being opened using same method) are.

    Sorry If i'm not explaining this right.
    Bert,

    That could only be true if you design it such that there has to be an audit link (or such) in order to establish a trail ... It's tough to answer this without knowing how you programmed this thing to work ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: Audit trail problem.

    Originally posted by t_galownia
    The link you provided is not working for me. Is it working for anyone else? can someone repost if it is not?


    Thanks!

    Muchly appreciated.
    No it's not working ... BERT! Get this person that link eh? ...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Belfast, UK
    Posts
    87
    ok sorry the link is.

    http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.p...ighlight=audit

    If that doesn't work shoot the messenger.

    I'll see if I can get you a sample of what I'm trying to do without the sensitive inform if you want and you can maybe guide help me from there. will be tomorrow though v late now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •