Question Unanswered: Database connectivity through VB 6

Hello to all,

I am new to this discussion board, but hope you will help me out.

I have developed a software using visual basic 6 and ms access as backend database.

This software is for Cyber Cafe Management that is why it has to access the database through networking. It is working fine. But many times the database is not updated properly and the frontend shows the wrong information. Tell me what to do in this situation.

Bye,
    Hoping for a nice answer.

Re: Database connectivity through VB 6

To answer your question you will have to be more specific on what exactly the problem is. In the meantime, here is some code to connect to an Access database, reterive data from Table1, close the recordset and close the connection using Visual Basic with ADO:

Dim cn as ADODB.Connection
    Dim rs as ADODB.Recordset

Set cn = new ADODB.Connection

cn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;User ID=Admin;Data Source=C:\Test.mdb;Persist Security Info=False"

cn.open

set rs = new ADODB.recordset

rs.ActiveConnection = cn

rs.Open "SELECT * FROM Table1"

rs.Close

cn.Close

Set rs=Nothing
    Set cn = Nothing
    http://www.scirocco.ca/images/banner...occobanner.gif

Download for FREE the ADO/DAO Data Controls that makes life EASIER developing database applications in: VB, FoxPro, Access, VC++, .NET etc... Navigate, Add New, Delete, Update, Search, Undo and Save your changes. Supports Disconnected Recordsets and Transactions!

Or try our Ask An Expert service to answer any of your questions!

Thanks for ur reply,

i have already used the same command and it works fine but many times specifically whenever there are many computers are online simultaneously then this command starts bugging. It doesn't update the data properly.

Can any body tell me what is the reason that it creates a problem while more than one computer are online simultaneously.

Hoping for a better answer.