Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: New Autonumbered Field in Query

    How can I create a new (Calculated) Autonumberd field in a Query? This is probably a no brainer for many of you, but I can't seem to figure out the formula quickly. Thanks. JAH

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    267
    If you are trying to create a incrementing number within a query, goto the knowledge base and search for

    QrySmp00.mdb

    under Access 2K

    It has about 20 sample query, several which touch on this, and others that might be of interest to you.

    S-

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Are you trying to get the row number of each record, each time the query is executed?
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7
    No, we are trying to create an Autonumbered Field to uniquely identify each Record (within the Query), without creating a new Table. Thanks!! JAH

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Originally posted by Revixx
    No, we are trying to create an Autonumbered Field to uniquely identify each Record (within the Query), without creating a new Table. Thanks!! JAH
    Why? This has almost no useful purpose ... With querying you can iterate thru the recordset and have an external counter for "uniquely identifying" each record ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Yeah, I gotta wonder why you need this.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7
    Ok, to clarify further...we are trying to create a new Table from a Query that will automatically include an Autonumbered field to uniquely identify each resulting record that is displayed from the Query. (does that help..?) JAH

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    78

    Why? This has almost no useful purpose ... With querying you can iterate thru the rec

    Hello.
    I also have the same problem to uniquely identify each record from the query. What my query does is it picks up the top 5 records from a table based on certain condition. Now I want to display this 5 records simultaneously on a report, with each record field being displayed in a seperate text field i.e. Record 1 field 1 in text box 1, Record 1 field 2 in text box 2, ..........., Record n field m+n text box y. Without a unique number on the query it will be very difficult to pick up the required records, I mean how to tell Access to go and pick up first record, then second record, etc? With autonumber in the query, it would be easier to extract the required information record by record from the query. Any suggestions plz?

    And M Owen, could you plz explain in detail about your previous anwer....
    "With querying you can iterate thru the recordset and have an external counter for "uniquely identifying" each record ".

    I dont seem to catch the crux of the answer.

    Cheers All.

    Prathmesh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •