Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16

    Unanswered: Linking to Exchange from SQL

    Does Exchange 2000 and SQL 2000 have to be the same machine to use exoledb.dll?
    I want to link to an Exchange server and gain access to a Public Folder Contact Object for use as a lookup table within an Access front end. Someone directed me to use the Exchange OLE DB Provider, but it does not exist on my SQL machine.

    Any help is appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    I believe you can get Exchange OLEDB from here : http://www.able-consulting.com/MDAC/..._Providers.htm
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16

    No Provider, only info

    Thanks for the thought...
    I did see a ton of other dB Providers, but for Exchange they only had information of how to use it in various ways. I suspect that the provider is loaded when you install Exchange but I can't confirm or deny this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Tried with provider listed on that link.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16
    I apologize, I don't understand. Please explain.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Pardon me, in the link provided have you tried downloading the referenced driver for Exchange or search over technet.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16
    The link did not take me to a driver. I have searched Microsoft's site along with searches through google but I have not been able to find it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    On the website for exchange section if you goto MS KB search it will take you thru to http://search.support.microsoft.com/...maxResults=100 links.

    HTH
    Originally posted by JKassil
    The link did not take me to a driver. I have searched Microsoft's site along with searches through google but I have not been able to find it.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16

    Satya

    There's nothing there...



    (hth???)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    565
    try this link .Microsoft Knowledge Base it gives the impression that you can use the ole db provider as it exists on the exchange server so you dont have to download it??????
    good luck
    i have been trying to do this for a while with active directory and it's not one of the easiest linking processes there is.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16

    Ruprect

    I have tried this with the resulting error message...

    Error 7403: Could not locate registry entry for OLE DB provider for 'exoledb.DataSource.1'. OLE DB error trace [Non-interface error: Provider not registered.].

    Do both SQL and Exchange need to live on the same machine?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Verify that the provider has been registered correctly and that the provider_name parameter uses the PROGID of the provider.

    KBA http://support.microsoft.com/?id=200794 will explain the scenario.

    HTH - Hope This Helps.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    16

    LOL

    That brings us back to my original question. Do Exchange and SQL need to be on the same machine and if not how do I get the Provider for exchange.
    Jerry Kassil

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    565
    to answer the first question
    no they do not have to be on the same machine
    any linking operation can be a distributed.process

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Using Linked server approach you can connect to Exchange server and as suggested they should be seperated.

    To create LS against exchange web store:
    EXEC sp_addlinkedserver 'exchange',
    'Exchange OLE DB provider',
    'exoledb.DataSource.1',
    'file:\\.\backofficestorage\localhost\public folders'
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •