Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: SQL account problems

    Has anyone come across a problem when changing database access on a sql auth. user only. Where you are prompted to confirm password and you are not changing the password but there database access.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    66
    I don't think I follow what you are asking. You are trying to change DB access on a SQL Authenicated user, and it is asking you to change the password, too?

    Are you sure it is not just asking for the password to confirm that you have the rights to change the database access?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by amesjustin
    I don't think I follow what you are asking. You are trying to change DB access on a SQL Authenicated user, and it is asking you to change the password, too?

    Are you sure it is not just asking for the password to confirm that you have the rights to change the database access?
    Steps:
    1. Go into Enterprise Manager
    2. Select security/logins
    3. Go to a sql auth. user that has already been setup
    4. Go to the tab Database Access
    5. Add them to another database with any permissions
    6. Click OK

    After clicking ok, I'm prompted to confirm their password.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    66

    Question

    Not happening to me. Does the login YOU are conecting with to make these changes have administrator-level access?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by amesjustin
    Not happening to me. Does the login YOU are conecting with to make these changes have administrator-level access?
    Yes. Thanks for replying.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Not at my end too, what is the privilege for this user on SQL server?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by Satya
    Not at my end too, what is the privilege for this user on SQL server?
    I'm connecting to Enterprise Manager with a user that has system administrator. The privilege for the existing sql user (janet) has public/db_datareader on one database (RECON) and I'm trying to add them to the an new database (ALCO) with the same privileges.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Have you removed builtin/administrators group from SQL?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by Satya
    Have you removed builtin/administrators group from SQL?
    yes

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Tried with a login that has normal select/user permission on SQL & database?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •