Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7

    Unanswered: Network error while backup

    We get an error when we are trying to run a backup of the SQL db here, we just got a new ISP to this company and al the routers and the like has been reconfigured (if that might be the problem). Would apreciate a speedy help with this one.
    Here is the error message we get

    un OnStart: DTSStep_DTSExecuteSQLTask_2 DTSRun OnError: DTSStep_DTSExecuteSQLTask_2, Error = -2147467259 (80004005) Error string: [DBNETLIB][ConnectionRead (recv()).]General network error. Check your network documentation. Error source: Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server Help file: Help context: 0 Error Detail Records: Error: -2147467259 (80004005); Provider Error: 11 (B) Error string: [DBNETLIB][ConnectionRead (recv()).]General network error. Check your network documentation. Error source: Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server Help file: Help context: 0 DTSRun OnFinish: DTSStep_DTSExecuteSQLTask_2 DTSRun OnStart: DTSStep_DTSExecuteSQLTask_1 DTSRun OnError: DTSStep_DTSExecuteSQLTask_1, Error = -2147467259 (80004005) Error string: Connection failure Error source: Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server Help file: Help conte... Process Exit Code 1. The step failed.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Why you're using DTS to take backup, the best option would be to perform a local backup of database on the server and use FTP or other file transfer options to transfer the file.

    The potential causes of general network would be:
    - any issues with network routers, hubs involved.
    - check event viewer for any network issues
    - SQL Server is not listening on the protocol or port that you are using to connect. The Server Network Utility on the server determines which protocols SQL Server will use and on which TCP/IP ports SQL Server will listen.
    - The Client Network Utility, an MDAC data source name (DSN), or your connection string determines which protocol and port your client uses when it connects.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thansk for the help i will look in to this

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    What are the privileges held for MSSQLSErver & SQLAgent service account?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Admin and connecting using Remote Desktop thru a TS server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    How about privileges on the desktop/remote server for these accounts?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    full acces for the admin
    they got all the neccesary priveliges
    the error ocuurd after the change of ISP it has worked fine before that so we are thinking it might be routing or something like that but we are not sure.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578

    Thumbs up

    Thats better, then dig out from other end/
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    hehe we have looked in to that but we cant find anything wrong with it at the moment thats why i posted it here to get some feedback what it might be so thanks for the help m8

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Any firewall involved or any new tools installed recently at ISP and your end?

    In order to determine whether this "general network error" is a
    Net-Library, a Network Protocol, or a name resolution problem, there are a few troubleshooting steps that should be tried.

    Take help from this KBA http://support.microsoft.com/default...NoWebContent=1 to troubleshoot if TCP/IP is defaulted.

    Best option to talk to ISP techies for useful information.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    yea we will do that i do also think they have done some configuring here that our network and SQL server didnt like.
    If we dont solve this our self they will have e great weekend fixing this shit here

    thanks again

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Only this backup job fails or a simple DTS also fails which involves file copy.

    ALso try to OS level to copy the files.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    7
    Will do that.... looks like it will be work for me this weekend to
    But i dont think there is anything wrong with the filecopying i think it is when it tries to resolve all the backup locations in the network here but as i said i will try everthing that might help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •