Unanswered: Does DB2 have SQL packages like Oracle?

Hi,

I am new to DB2 world, wanted to know whether DB2 have a similar concept of having SQL Packages like Oracle has where we can declare types, procedures and functions or anything global we want to keep?

Thanks

any ideas, any answers??

Thanks

Provided Answers: 1

Re: Does DB2 have SQL packages like Oracle?

Originally posted by vijpan
    Hi,

I am new to DB2 world, wanted to know whether DB2 have a similar concept of having SQL Packages like Oracle has where we can declare types, procedures and functions or anything global we want to keep?

Thanks
    Yes you can declare types and create procedures and functions. I'm not sure about "anything global" though.

Yes we do have packages in db2

could anyone put something more in detail or point me towards some material to look into?

Thanks

could anyone put something more in detail or point me towards some material to look into?

Thanks
    You can start with DB2 Application Development Guide. A link to the DB2 manuals can be found in the posting calle "Useful DB2 Stuff"

actually i had looked at the "Application Development Guide", they really dont mention about Packages as such, hmm SP's are fine, we are making use of that , but i miss packages ,i wanted to know if DB2 has similar kind of capability like Oracle Packages have and if they do or is there another way thats implemented in DB2...any more ideas would be really appreciated.

Thanks a lot guys!

actually i had looked at the "Application Development Guide", they really dont mention about Packages as such, hmm SP's are fine, we are making use of that , but i miss packages ,i wanted to know if DB2 has similar kind of capability like Oracle Packages have and if they do or is there another way thats implemented in DB2...any more ideas would be really appreciated.

Thanks a lot guys!