Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19

    Unanswered: truss: non-existent process ignored:

    Hi ,

    When i am running some scripts from a shell script the messages are coming below stated . If i am running that script induvidual it's running fine . Please could anybody help me out on this . This is a Production server . Thanks --Manash

    "truss: non-existent process ignored: 27372
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27372.out
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 26772
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 26772.out
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27284
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27284.out
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 26834
    truss: non-existent process ignored: truss26834.out: non-existent process ignored: 27137

    usage: truss: non-existent process ignored: 27137.outtruss
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27130
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27130.out
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    trusstrusstruss: non-existent process ignored: trusstrusstrusstrusstruss: non-existent process ignored: : non-existent process ignored: truss2732227286: non-existent process ignored: truss: non-existent process ignored: : non-existent process ignored: : non-existent process ignored: 27151
    truss: non-existent process ignored:
    27285truss: non-existent process ignored:
    : non-existent process ignored: 2688327303truss 26931 "
    Manash Ranjan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    show us the script
    Jean-Pierre.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19

    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27372

    I am attaching the script as mq
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Manash Ranjan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    I don't see any problem in your 'mq' script.
    I have,'t found any 'truss' command in that script, so the problem may be in the calling script.
    Jean-Pierre.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19
    Hi Aigles .

    When i am running the Calling script than i don't find any problem once i am adding this mq scripts the error is coming . I am also attaching here my calling script .

    Regards
    Manash
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Manash Ranjan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    I can't find the origin of the problem.

    I suggest you to execute your script with the -x option, and to analyze the result.

    You can do 'ksh -x prod-script > prod-script.log 2>&1'

    or add 'set -x' in your script at the point from where you want to debug the execution ('set +x' debug off)
    Jean-Pierre.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19
    Hi , When i am doing debugging i am getting the error at cut commands i am pasting the errors here
    Please help me out please .

    + cut -c9-
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 26911
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 26911.out
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...

    LIST=
    + [ ]
    + + [ 1 -ne 58 ]
    + + expr 1 + 1
    count=2
    + read line
    + + echo Starting MQSeries Commands.
    + grep CHANNEL(
    + awk { print $1 }
    + tr -d \)
    + cut -c9-
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27372
    truss: non-existent process ignored: 27372.out
    usage: truss [-fcaeildD] [-[tTvx] [!]syscalls] [-[sS] [!]signals] \
    [-[mM] [!]faults] [-[rw] [!]fds] [-[uU] [!]libs:[:][!]functs] \
    [-o outfile] command | -p pid ...
    Manash Ranjan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    Are you sure that you are using the standard 'cut' command ?

    Verify by :

    which cut or whence cut
    On my system, gives : /usr/bin/cut
    In your script, try to replace 'cut' by the full path '/usr/bin/cut'

    echo "123" | cut -c1 => 1
    echo "123" | /usr/bin/cut -c1 => 1
    Jean-Pierre.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19
    Hi ,

    I added /usr/bin/cut but still the same error is giving .
    Please help me out .

    Regards
    Manash
    Manash Ranjan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    1) I don't know the 'truss' command. What is its purpose ?

    2) What happens if you add a simple 'cut' command in your script ?
    echo "123" | cut -c1-
    Is there an error for this cut command, and is there a result displayed ("1") ?

    3)Try to replace the following pipe :

    LIST=`echo $line | grep 'CHANNEL(' | awk ' { print $1 } ' |cut -c9- | tr -d "\)"`

    by:

    LIST=`echo $line | awk '/CHANNEL\(/ { sub(/)/,"",$1) ; print substr($1,9)}' `
    Jean-Pierre.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19
    Hi ,

    echo "123" | cut -c1- is working fine
    the result is giving 123 .

    Also i tried with replacing the

    LIST=`echo $line | grep 'CHANNEL(' | awk ' { print $1 } ' |cut -c9- | tr -d "\)"`

    by:

    LIST=`echo $line | awk '/CHANNEL\(/ { sub(/)/,"",$1) ; print substr($1,9)}' `

    The error is coming

    MQ Channel status
    ========================================

    awk: syntax error near line 1
    awk: illegal statement near line 1
    awk: syntax error near line 1
    awk: illegal statement near line 1
    awk: syntax error near line 1
    awk: illegal statement near line 1
    awk: syntax error near line 1
    Manash Ranjan

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    Try with nawk instead of awk

    Have you tried to execute your initial script without truss
    I have read that truss is an UNIX strace program. All yours error messages comes from this program.
    I think that we are on the wrong way when searching the problem inside the script.
    Jean-Pierre.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    19
    Hi ,

    I have not used anywhere truss command in my script . You can see
    my original script which i uploaded .

    Thanks
    --Manash
    Manash Ranjan

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    320
    The problem is on your server, not in your script.
    Contact your system manager.
    Jean-Pierre.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •