Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: import/export

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3

    Talking Unanswered: import/export

    hi there, can you help me please??
    i must move data from one db to another, and i don't know exactly how to do the export of one table and the following import...
    i've been googling a lot without finding any tutorial or introductory article...
    can you help me?

    (if you suggest any good resource on the subject where i can learn about how to perform import/export i'd really appreciate)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    370

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thank you SkyWriter fou your reply,
    i'm trying to do the export now
    but when i run
    exp PARFILE=myFile.par
    i get the following
    ORA-00900: invalid SQL statement

    what could be wrong with it,
    what do i have to install??
    thanx

    (i'm using PL/SQL Develpoer as a client to the db)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, SC (USA)
    Posts
    1,155
    What does your parfile look like ???

    syntax: from OS command prompt
    exp username/password@servicename file=c:\...\export.exp table=(tablename)

    imp username/password@servicename file=c:\...\export.exp full=Y ignore=Y

    HTH
    Gregg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3
    this is what's in my parfile:

    USERID=mbank/mbank
    FILE=i_TE_CONVERSIONE_TABELLA.dmp
    LOG=i_TE_CONVERSIONE_TABELLA.log
    GRANTS=y
    INDEXES=y
    CONSISTENT=y
    CONSTRAINTS=y
    ROWS=y
    FEEDBACK=1000
    TABLES=(atm_anm_ope)

    i run the following command:
    exp PARFILE=c:\orant\BIN\io_exp.par

    but keep getting
    ORA-00900: invalid SQL statement

    there must be some kind of solution...


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    370
    What SQL statement does it object to?
    What is in the log file?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    why do you not specify the sid you wish to export from?
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenville, SC (USA)
    Posts
    1,155
    Can you run export from the command prompt ??? ie;

    exp username/password@sid file=c:\...\export.exp table=(tablename)

    or exp username/password@sid <return>

    If you have an error just running exp then you might find that catexp
    never was run on the database.

    HTH
    Gregg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •