Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: getting the backup exec sql agent to work

    i know this topic has been covered and i've searched but i can't find the answer.

    -SQL server is a diffrent server than my backup server
    -i've installed the sql agent option on the backup exec server
    -i've installed the client network utility on the remote server

    the backup server doesn't see the SQL server databases. any thoughts

    could it be a security issue?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6
    If your production server and the backup servers are different, then you can not schedule the backup of the production server DB on the backup server.
    What you need to do is :
    1. Verify if the SQLServerAgent service is running with the domain account, not with localsystem account.
    2. Map a drive of the backup server to the production server.Give all the rights to the user account, with which the SQLServerAgent service is running.
    3. On a production server , schedule a job for backup of the Prod DB to the backup server. and in the backup folder name specify the complete UNC. e.g \\servername\sharename\file.bak.

    May be this will help you out.

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    And also ensure simlar netlib protocol used to connect from remote (backup) server to sQL Server.

    The best method is to perform local backup on SQL server and then copy the file across the network, this way you can reduce overhead of stressing SQL during backup process.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by Satya
    And also ensure simlar netlib protocol used to connect from remote (backup) server to sQL Server.

    The best method is to perform local backup on SQL server and then copy the file across the network, this way you can reduce overhead of stressing SQL during backup process.
    ok, one problem though... the sql agent isn't running. the option has been installed, but i can't deploy the agent to the sql server, assuming it's the same method as deploying the windows 2000 remote agent.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Tried restarting the SQLAgent?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by Satya
    Tried restarting the SQLAgent?
    unfortunately there is no sql agent "service" on either the sql server or the backup server. when i say that the option has been installed, i mean that the serial number has been added, but i feel that the agent isn't in fact installed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    SQLAgent will be installed by default alongwith SQL Server installation.
    Check whether any issues in starting the service on SQL Server via Enterprise Manager.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by Satya
    SQLAgent will be installed by default alongwith SQL Server installation.
    Check whether any issues in starting the service on SQL Server via Enterprise Manager.
    ok thanks, i've actually schedule a reboot on both server's. i'll post any issues tomorrow. thanks again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5
    ok, sql agent service, sql server service are both running fine on the sql server. i think my issue is installing the backup exec sql agent, how do i install this on a remote server?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Refer to the vendor's documentation about installation.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1
    Dude, I've got the same problem with my Backup Exec Agent for SQL and Exchange. Neither are listed on the install options remotely window. I've found an easy way around this is to install the full backup exec on you SQL server, that is if it can handle it. In that installation, install the SQL agent. Then you get the little SQL server icon on the thing.

    MOD: Edited to remove unnecessary comments.
    Last edited by JonathanB; 04-07-04 at 05:28.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    734
    Little piece of advice, if you are using Backup Exec, don't use the open files option. It doesn't get along with SQL Server 2000 too well. Also, just backup the backup file directory. Make sure you tell it to skip the program directory with SQL Server in it and the directories with your data and log files. Otherwise you could have several long nights in front of you.
    MeanOldDBA
    derrickleggett@hotmail.com
    When life gives you a lemon, fire the DBA.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •