Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: dbcc checktable!

    Hi,

    Could someone please tell me if there's a way to suppress the message sent to the sql error log after running the 'DBCC CHECKTABLE' command?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In front of the computer
    Posts
    15,579
    Provided Answers: 54
    Yes, there is a way to suppress it, but I don't remember the details off the top of my head. What are you trying to accomplish?

    -PatP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6
    Well, instead of using checkdb, I'd like to run checktable in my script to avoid checking historical tables. However, running checktable keeps adding unnecessary entries to the sql log since I already have a log to hold the information. I don't need additional ones in the sql log.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    Running WITH NO_INFOMSGS for any DBCC statement will suppress all informational messages.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6
    Running with NO_INFOMSGS won't suppress the message in the sql server log.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I'm just curious as to why you want to do this?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,578
    What is the Audit level setting on SQL Server ---> Security tab?
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6
    The reason of using checktable is that there's a decision to keep the historical data in the same db but to a different table. Checktable is used in order to shorten the run time.

    How does the Audit level in the Security affect the result in this circumstance?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •