Unanswered: parsing a delimited string

Hello, I am having a hard time parsing a delimited string. I am a novice at VBA and have been struggling with the sources I find out there that explain how to do this.

I have a temp table [ExcelLegalFactorsCapEarly] that is imported from Excel that contains a records with a number of fields. Among them are the following (with one sample record

[ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 1;3;4;6;7;9

The [ClaimNumber] is the primary key on this table.

There can be up to 25 different InjuryTypes. Each InjuryType number corresponds to a description that I have in another table called [tblInjuryTypeList].

I need to parse the Injury Types field and append them to another table called [tblInjuriesperClaimECA] so that the fields look like this:

[ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 1
    [ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 3
    [ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 4
    [ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 6
    [ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 7
    [ClaimNumber] = 12345 [InjuryType] = 9

The combination of the [ClaimNumber] and the [InjuryType] make up the primary key on this table.

What is the syntax to do this? So far, I have created two queries, one that appends the [ClaimNumber] and first [InjuryType]. The syntax on this query is as follows:

INSERT INTO tblInjuriesperClaimECA ( ClaimNumber, InjuryType )
    SELECT ExcelLegalFactorsCapEarly.[ClaimNumber], Left([InjuryType],InStr(1,[InjuryType],";")-1) AS Expr1
    FROM ExcelLegalFactorsCapEarly;

The second query removes the first InjuryType:
    UPDATE ExcelLegalFactorsCapEarly SET ExcelLegalFactorsCapEarly.[InjuryType] = Mid([InjuryType],InStr(1,[InjuryType],";")+1);

I have luck with the queries for the first Injury Type but am stuck from there. I don't know how to Loop till it is done adding all the Injury types.

Sorry this is so long, but I wanted to be thorough!

Thanks in advance for your help.

Grace

Re: parsing a delimited string

Originally posted by palto1