Unanswered: Backup Device Locations Help

I am a newbie in SQL Server Administration. I decided to make the move within my company that no one else wanted.

I have SQL Server 2000 running at this time; users are connecting and using it. My question I guess pertains to the backups.

I have two drives setup for data and transactions logs (D: E

My backups are running but backups are being sent to the d:systems data\mssql\backup folder. once backups are comlete I normally copy the backups to a network share that is being backed up nightly to tape.

My question is this:

How do i create a device location under backup properties to point to a network share? i would like for the backups to go straight to a network drive so i do not have to copy the backups every morning when i come in.

Its not good idea to perform backup over network share.
    Instead schedule the job to copy those backup files to the network share using norma DOS Copy commands.

Ensure SQLAgent has required privileges to carry on this task of copying files on the network share.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    [IMG]http://sqlserver-qa.net/google_bart.gif[/IMG]

Originally posted by Satya
    Instead schedule the job to copy those backup files to the network share using norma DOS Copy commands.

Ensure SQLAgent has required privileges to carry on this task of copying files on the network share.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Can you explain or point me to an article on using the DOS Copy command and how to use it with SQL Server? It's not something that I have used.

And what required permissions should the SQLAgent have in order to perform this type of task? the account that I created for the server itself has domain admin privileges. Would this pertain to the SQLAgent and help it perfrom the above tasks?

Originally posted by Arra2
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------