Unanswered: calculation on popup pass to another

I have a project that requires calculations be done before before submitting the results to a database. The ones entering the data are mostly limited in computer skills and very suceptable to making errors. (I am a programmer that is limited in programming skills and suceptable to creating bugs that require additional work to kill). The calculations would require that I recall a closing number which becomes the beginning number for the next record. I know enough vbscript to brute force the results, but I have seen js popups that have a calendar that once you select a date it populates a text box on the "main" page and the same with a calculator that pops up and once you do hit the = sign, it populates a text box on the main page. I think that I could reduce the number of errors by letting the user see what the results look like before submitting the page for data entry. My problem is that while I can sometimes "borrow" and modify js, most of the time I just don't get it.

I can create the asp that returns the beginning number and once the the desired value is know, I can submit it to be written to the database. What I don't know how to do is pass the variables from the vbscript asp to the js and visa versa.

Put simply

vb page
    startValue = rs.beginnig.fields.item("StartNum")
    "txtWarehouseNumber" and "txtEnd" is waiting on value to be passed back to it for product sent to warehouse and then product left on floor at shift change

js page
    sees startValue and has a text box for entering total number of skids sent to the warehouse (skid has x number of widgets on the skid) and a text box for number of widgets left on floor at end of shift. The user clicks the "Calculate" button and the js page then does the math to net the number that was sent to the warehouse and puts it on the main page "txtWarehouseNumber" and also give it back "txtEnd" for floor inventory.