Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42

    Talking Unanswered: RUN_REPORT_OBJECT help!!!

    Hello,

    Sorry for such a n00b question. I am trying to call a report from a from in Form Builder9i from Report Builder9i. The command i think i need is the RUN_REPORT_OBJECT(), i have made a test report to try and call but get the following error.

    error 201 at line 1, column 19
    identifier'testreport' must be declared.


    How on earth can I declare a report on the form?

    Thanks for your help.

    jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    down on the cube farm, left then right then another left
    Posts
    467
    Welcome to the club. I am currently struggling with Reports from Forms.

    Look in your object naviagtor (of forms) Down near the bottom you will see "Report". Start there.
    NOTE: Please disregard the label "Senior Member".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Originally posted by Todd Barkus
    Welcome to the club. I am currently struggling with Reports from Forms.

    Look in your object naviagtor (of forms) Down near the bottom you will see "Report". Start there.
    Hey cheers.

    I was looking at your thread but its far too complex for what im looking to do.


    Ill have a look at the object nav, cheers for getting back to me.

    Jon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Ok....Ive now got the report on the nav bar. But it still doesn't seem to be finding it. My code is.

    RUN_REPORT_OBJECT(RTEST);

    RTEST being the report name. Im still getting the error RTEST is not declared, im not sure where or how I have to declared. I had a similar problem with another tigger.

    Tar

    Jon

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    down on the cube farm, left then right then another left
    Posts
    467
    Originally posted by jonrohan
    Ok....Ive now got the report on the nav bar. But it still doesn't seem to be finding it. My code is.

    RUN_REPORT_OBJECT(RTEST);

    RTEST being the report name. Im still getting the error RTEST is not declared, im not sure where or how I have to declared. I had a similar problem with another tigger.

    Tar

    Jon
    Try RUN_REPORT_OBJECT('RTEST');
    NOTE: Please disregard the label "Senior Member".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    That doesn't work either. Gives the error

    wrong number of types of arguements in call to 'RUN....etc.

    I can't be declaring the report properly. How do you declare something?

    J

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    PROCEDURE TEST_REPORT IS
    repid REPORT_OBJECT;
    v_rep VARCHAR2(100);
    rep_status VARCHAR2(20);
    BEGIN
    repid := find_report_object('report5');
    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(repid,REPORT_EXECUTION_ MODE,BATCH);
    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(repid,REPORT_COMM_MODE, SYNCHRONOUS);
    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(repid,REPORT_DESTYPE,CA CHE);
    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(repid,REPORT_DESFORMAT, 'html');
    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(repid,REPORT_SERVER,'re pserver90');
    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(repid,REPORT_OTHER,'par amform=no pdeptno='||:dept.deptno);
    v_rep := RUN_REPORT_OBJECT(repid);
    rep_status := REPORT_OBJECT_STATUS(v_rep);
    WHILE rep_status in ('RUNNING','OPENING_REPORT','ENQUEUED')
    LOOP
    rep_status := report_object_status(v_rep);
    END LOOP;
    IF rep_status = 'FINISHED' THEN
    /*Display report in the browser*/
    WEB.SHOW_DOCUMENT('http://<YourServerName:8888/reports/rwservlet/getjobid'||
    substr(v_rep,instr(v_rep,'_',-1)+1)||'?'||'server=repserver90','_blank');
    ELSE
    message('Error when running report');
    END IF;
    END;
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    down on the cube farm, left then right then another left
    Posts
    467
    According to doc that should work. I do it differently in my code. I think I have an example in the other thread, but for ease:

    DECLARE
    rep_id REPORT_OBJECT;
    rep_result VARCHAR2(80);
    BEGIN
    rep_id := find_report_object('SETUP_VERIFICATION');

    SET_REPORT_OBJECT_PROPERTY(rep_id, REPORT_OTHER,
    'work_order_arg='||:mdm_control_recipes.work_order );

    rep_result := RUN_REPORT_OBJECT(rep_id);

    END;


    I am sorry I am giving you a fish instead of teaching fishing, but as you have noticed I am supporting my own thread right now. Feel free to join us once you get to where I am. (I was where you are last week :-)).
    NOTE: Please disregard the label "Senior Member".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •