Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Process Tree

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered: Process Tree

    All,

    Is there a process tree command (db2ptree) for AIX ?
    I came across an article that explained about db2ptree command for Solaris.

    Thanks
    Chenni

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: Process Tree

    I'm not sure if you read this or someother article :
    Since the ps command on Sun's operating system does not provide the real process name of the DB2 processes (instead ps shows only "db2sysc") a new tool db2ptree was developed.
    With db2ptree the DBA is able to see all DB2 processes of one instance with their real names (e.g. db2wdog, db2pfchr etc.). The result is in an easy-to-read tree structure. db2ptree is part of the standard DB2 installation image on Sun. It is located in the sqllib/bin subdirectory.
    This explains why IBM has provided db2ptree only for Solaris ... I think you should be able to script one for AIX yourself

    Cheers
    Sathyaram

    Originally posted by db2db2
    All,

    Is there a process tree command (db2ptree) for AIX ?
    I came across an article that explained about db2ptree command for Solaris.

    Thanks
    Chenni
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    11
    Sathya, Thanks for the immediate response and your reply explains why Solaris has db2ptree command. Btw, I don't see the command in ../sqllib/bin directory.

    I will develop one soon.

    Thanks
    Chenni

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Are you on Solaris platform ?

    I have used this db2ptree on Solaris

    Btw, I don't see the command in ../sqllib/bin directory.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    11
    Sathya,

    I'm on AIX. I downloaded a perl script pstree from WEB and it works like a charm.

    -Chenni

    Originally posted by sathyaram_s
    Are you on Solaris platform ?

    I have used this db2ptree on Solaris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    141
    Don't you have db2_local_ps on AIX? What db2ptree gives you that db2_local_ps doesn't?
    Rodney Krick

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    11
    I completely forgot about db2_local_ps and i never thought it can do the same.
    pstree is no different than db2_local_ps.

    Thanks for your post.

    -Chenni

    Originally posted by RKrick
    Don't you have db2_local_ps on AIX? What db2ptree gives you that db2_local_ps doesn't?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •