Unanswered: Complex Stored Procedure in MS Jet 4.0?

I'm a first time sysadmin for a small company. I'm working with MS Jet OLEDB 4.0. The boss won't buy me SQL Server or even MS Access, so I'm trying to make it all work with Jet 4.0, ADO and VB

My problem: I have a table 'Applications' which holds data on rental applicants, and a Table 'CommercialAppInfo' which holds one-to-one related records for those Applicants which are companies applying for a commercial lease. I want open an ADO recordset with a dynamically generated field for the full name of the applicant according to these rules:

(Sorry, forum doesn't appear to accept indentation!)

If ReportType* MOD 4 <> 3 THEN

If Len(SpouseFirstName) = 0 then
    DynamicField = LastName & ', ' & FirstName
    ELSE
    DynamicField = LastName & FirstName
    END IF

ELSE 'A commercial lease Application

SELECT DynamicField = CompanyName FROM CommercialAppInfo WHERE CommercialAppInfo.RelatedTo = Applications.PKey

END IF

*The ReportType Field is an integer field where bits 3 and on are attributes such as roommate or cosigner, and the bits 1 & 2 describe the type of application; commercial, residential or employment.

Basically, I want the full name to be: {LastName, FirstName[ & SpouseFirstName] | CommercialAppInfo.CompanyName}

I would like to have this done by a stored procedure that returns a value, as in the following syntax

Dim loRS as ADODB.Recordsetet loRS = New ADODB.Recordset
    lors.open "SELECT GetName(LastName, FirstName, SpouseFirstName, PKey) AS FullName FROM Applications WHERE ReceiveDate = #3/26/04#"

Is there a way that I can learn to do such a thing? Many thanks to anyone who is willing to try to help.

Sorry I can't help you. A stored procedure with no place to store it? My suggestion is to do a search on stored procedures, but perhaps in another section of this forum or try another forum.

Good Luck!
    John
    This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it.

stored proc