Unanswered: indexing a table with 80 million records

i have a directory database with approx. 80 million records. i am feeding the database with bulk_insert. Indexing one of the fields took about 8 hrs. After indexing when i run queries with the indexed field the response time is under 1 sec. However if i run select queries with like on non-indexed fields it takes more than 2 mins. So i decided to index 4 other fields in the database and it looks like the indexing process is going to run for 2 days.
    i am a novice in SQL database design and i am not sure if this is the best way to index the table. i am just using create index. Any suggestions / advice welcome.

However if i run select queries with like on non-indexed fields it takes more than 2 mins.

if you query a table with a leading wildcard % in the like clause you will more than likely receive a table scan.

indexing is just part of the query process.
    only create indexes on columns you will be querying
    consider a fill factor with each index (depends on the transactional activity)
    you can create composite (multi columned) indexes to increase performance and cover certain queries.

Originally posted by Ruprect
    if you query a table with a leading wildcard % in the like clause you will more than likely receive a table scan.

indexing is just part of the query process.
    only create indexes on columns you will be querying
    consider a fill factor with each index (depends on the transactional activity)
    you can create composite (multi columned) indexes to increase performance and cover certain queries.
    Try Creating a none_clustered index on all foreign Keys. And remember to create a Clustered index on the Columns that are queried most frequently. Make sure you use a Where clause in your query instead of using select * this will take a longer time in retrieving data

clustered indexes arent always the best solution.