Unanswered: Standards for Field Sizes

Hello All,

I'm a newbie so be gentle.....

I was wondering if there's a "standard" way of sizing common fields in a database and where I could get this info (preferably online).

What I'm looking for is a list that shows the "standard" size for a TELEPHONE NUMBER field is XX; for a ZIP CODE field is XX; for a CITY field is XX; etc...

I've been Googling my butt off but haven't really found what I was looking for.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

-Z-

It depends on whether the data you are storing is not ever going to be other than United States type of information or if your application will have to deal with international data. Phone numbers and Zip/Post codes will differ throughout the world.

The answer, I think, is: it all depends on the data and what flexibility you need to built into the data storage.

LF

Provided Answers: 54
    Take a good guess, then treat that as a "programmer estimate".

Programmer estimates can be converted to real world values using a simple algorithm. Every estimate has two parts, a measure (numeric) and a unit (an agreed upon method for taking measurments). So for an estimate of 2 hours, 2 is the measure and hours is the unit. To convert a programmer estimate to a real world measure you double the measure, and move to the next larger unit. In our previous example, the 2 hours then becomes 4 days.

On a slightly more serious note, guesstimate what you'll need, then use that as a starting point. It will almost always be too low!

-PatP

I just found this list of more than 300 suggested field types/sizes:
    http://www.prestwood.com/community/d...mon_fields.asp

Like said in all the other posts we cannot really tell you what should be done. But like here is an example about variance. Your database has a field for phone numbers, usually you make this field type a text field. Why? So you can customize it.