Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Enabled kaio?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: Enabled kaio?

    Hi,
    I have a Informix 7.31 UD4 running on a Solaris 9 server.
    I use raw devices for the dbspaces.
    Is there any way to confirm that the system use kaio?

    Stefan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    177
    onstat -g iov
    Fred Prose

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for replying.
    The output from onstat seems to show that iīm not using kaio, see below.
    As i told before i use raw devices and Solaris 9.
    onstat -g iov shows:
    $ onstat -g iov

    Informix Dynamic Server Version 7.31.UD4 -- On-Line -- Up 5 days 10:05:35 --
    242528 Kbytes

    AIO I/O vps:
    class/vp s io/s totalops dskread dskwrite dskcopy wakeups io/wup errors
    msc 0 i 0.1 128 0 0 0 128 1.0 0
    aio 0 i 1.8 1823 1592 231 0 1787 1.0 0
    aio 1 i 1.4 1411 1195 216 0 1380 1.0 0
    aio 2 i 1.2 1174 1053 121 0 1159 1.0 0
    aio 3 i 1.0 990 879 111 0 983 1.0 0
    aio 4 i 0.9 851 780 71 0 833 1.0 0
    aio 5 i 0.8 747 667 80 0 749 1.0 0
    aio 6 i 0.7 648 609 39 0 649 1.0 0
    aio 7 i 0.6 600 573 27 0 589 1.0 0
    aio 8 i 0.6 559 532 27 0 562 1.0 0
    aio 9 i 0.5 496 475 21 0 513 1.0 0
    aio 10 i 0.5 466 448 18 0 471 1.0 0
    aio 11 i 0.4 428 408 20 0 442 1.0 0
    aio 12 i 0.4 392 372 20 0 399 1.0 0
    aio 13 i 0.3 296 278 18 0 314 0.9 0
    aio 14 i 0.3 252 237 15 0 267 0.9 0
    aio 15 i 0.2 228 211 17 0 233 1.0 0
    aio 16 i 0.2 204 186 18 0 204 1.0 0
    aio 17 i 0.2 197 181 16 0 197 1.0 0
    aio 18 i 0.2 185 171 14 0 184 1.0 0
    aio 19 i 0.2 177 166 11 0 174 1.0 0
    aio 20 i 0.2 170 159 11 0 163 1.0 0
    aio 21 i 0.2 157 147 10 0 160 1.0 0
    aio 22 i 0.2 154 145 9 0 149 1.0 0
    aio 23 i 0.1 131 124 7 0 133 1.0 0
    aio 24 i 0.1 113 105 8 0 111 1.0 0
    aio 25 i 0.1 90 83 7 0 93 1.0 0
    aio 26 i 0.1 70 63 7 0 70 1.0 0
    aio 27 i 0.1 54 48 6 0 57 0.9 0
    aio 28 i 0.0 40 34 6 0 41 1.0 0
    aio 29 i 0.0 35 30 5 0 34 1.0 0
    aio 30 i 0.0 26 22 4 0 25 1.0 0
    aio 31 i 0.0 22 19 3 0 22 1.0 0
    aio 32 i 0.0 14 13 1 0 14 1.0 0
    aio 33 i 0.0 12 10 2 0 12 1.0 0
    aio 34 i 0.0 10 9 1 0 10 1.0 0
    aio 35 i 0.0 9 7 2 0 10 0.9 0
    pio 0 i 0.1 63 0 63 0 63 1.0 0
    lio 0 i 0.0 10 0 10 0 10 1.0 0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    183
    You can set and export the environment variable KAIOON=1 before starting the instance. Remember to configure the number of AIOVPS, NUMAIOVPS 1(version 7&9 or VPCLASS aio,num=1 version 9) in your onconfig.

    The best way to check is onstat -g ath and look for kaio threads.

    Greetings,

    Rob Prop

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    177

    Wink

    One question. Have you check the release notes for Solaris and your version of IDS to find out if KAIO is supported?

    KAIO on AIX is required and the instance will abort if it's not turned on. It's installed at the Device level of the operating system. If the answer to the above question is yes, get with you sysadmin and find out where and if KAIO is enabled.

    Of course if your sysadmin is as good as our sysadmin, he'll probibly think your talkling about a camp ground.
    Fred Prose

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    146
    In AIX, it's usually set in /etc/rc, could be similar/very different in a Solaris env.

    /usr/sbin/mkdev -l aio0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    6
    Solaris: KAIO is available for raw devices and Quick I/O files.
    No special configuration is required.

    My IDS version supports kaio.

    I found this in a Informix manual:
    When you configure a block device with a character-special interface, the device is called a raw device, and the storage space that the device provides is called raw disk space.

    What do they mean with "configure a block device with a character-special interface"?
    I have on the server, as always, block devices and raw devices.
    Do i need a special configuration of the block device in order for Informix to support kaio or does it mean that i shall use the already existing raw device?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •