Thread: help ~ ..

Unanswered: help ~ ..

eh i know this is kindda stupid. but im a noob when it comes to oracle this kind of stuffs. ive installed SQL PLUS in my comp. im able to log into the SQL in the past. say, the last time was around 2-3 weeks ago. im not sure whether ive changed the username and the password. but i cant seem to be able to log into it anymore. does anyone knows is there any way to retrieve the username and the password without logging into the SQL first ?

thanks alot.

Re: help ~ ..

Try with Default Id/Password combinations

scott/tiger
    sys/change_on_install

You cannot retrieve passwords from Oracle, even if you logon as SYS AS SYSDBA (the root user.) This is because passwords are created using a one-way hashing algorithm and then discarded - the original password is never stored or retained by Oracle.

However, if you use Windows NT/2K/XP and you have ability to logon directly to the server, you are in luck. Just update your sqlnet.ora file to have SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES=(NTS), and make sure your Windows user is a member of the Windows user group ORA_DBA, then launch SQL*Plus from the DOS prompt and issue the command "CONNECT / AS SYSDBA". Viola! You're in as the root user without being prompted for a password (this is why most companies restrict who has operating system ability to logon to Oracle servers!) Now that you're in you can change the password for any given user X using the SQL*Plus command "PASSWORD X". Example, type PASSWORD MARKJ and press Return. It will prompt for the new password.
    MarkRem
    Author, Oracle Database 10g: From Nuts to Soup
    http://www.remidata.com/book_nuts2soup.htm

Originally posted by markrem