Unanswered: importing MDF database

As a newbie, I'm having problems importing a copy of my SQLServer2k development database from my laptop (via a CD), to my production SQL Server2k database.

I've tried the DTS Import/Export wizard & also the Copy wizard, but can't seem to see the dialog that prompts & identifies the source path & filename.

I've tried setting up an ODBC DSN for the database, but get the same problem.

Coming from an Access background, I've been used to the copying of *.mdb files, and half expected that level of simplicity with SQLS2K - but clearly, I'm wrong and am missing something, which the on-line help isn't able to clarify for me...

Can anyone please give me any pointers for me to get a copy of my development database along with its stored procedures, from my laptop (not networked), to my desktop server. Both use SQLS2k.

Thanks in advance, Alex

Re: importing MDF database

So let me get this strait. You want to restore a copy of your database thats are on a CD?

The easiest for you would be to either copy the MDF file along with LDF file onto a local drive of the server from the CD and use Enterprise Manager (EM) to Attach Database, or create a backup on your laptop and then restore from that backup file.

Provided Answers: 54
    Originally posted by rdjabarov
    The easiest for you would be to either copy the MDF file along with LDF file onto a local drive of the server from the CD and use Enterprise Manager (EM) to Attach Database, or create a backup on your laptop and then restore from that backup file.
    ...and remember to mark the files Read/Write again! I've never been bitten by that, but I read about this guy that was once!

-PatP

This link http://vyaskn.tripod.com/moving_sql_server.htm refers moving database from one system to another, just follow instead moving consider copying the files.

Also refer to the corresponding KBAs which refers to resolve any login issue arises.
    --Satya SKJ
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP