Question Unanswered: Need help to create my Time Dimension

I have a fact table which contains the transaction date, ProductID, QTySold, TotalSaleAmount, etc...

Since I am new to OLAP therefore I need help to now create the table for TIME on which I will be basing my time dimension... I have read a few articles and have gathered that at the end of the exercise my fact table should have a 'timeid' column which will be linked to the same column in the table being used for the time dimension...

I have gone through the tutorial of MS-Analysis Service and FoodMart example have some idea about what he structure of this table will be.

My questions are:

1. I need guidance on how to create the table for time. One option is to just copy the table used in the Foodmart example but thought that might work but my concept will not be clear

2. The structure of the table to be used for time dimension is quite clear (i think this part is easy). What I want to understand is that how do i POPULATE this table which data? Can some one provide me with scripts, SPs, or whatever to do this.... This is the area where I am lost...

3. How will I enter the "TheDate" column in my fact table and link it with my table for time dimension...

Looking forward to someone's help.

BTW, I would like to share a very good article which i recently found in one of the newsgroups. Some of you might like appreciate it too:

I'm not expert but:

1. create table time_dimension
    with id column (timeKEY-?)
    copu your dates to the time_dimension
    (eventualy create levels year,quater,month)

for example:

select distinct
    Year = year(date_kol),
    quarter= DatePart(qq,date_kol),
    month = DatePart(mm,date_kol)
    from table

2. after that you create fact table also with id column (timeKEY-?)

timekey = (select t.timekey from base.dbo.time_dim t

--fact kolumns--

from table k

first finish copying data to time table before begining coping data to fact table