Unanswered: Deadlock !!!! :(

Hi

Sorry for bombading the forum with all these questions, but i am relatively new to sql 2000.

I am getting dead lock on the following procedure.

important background information
    1. this is a multi user web-based call centre application
    2. this procedure loads up a new contact based on priority

I see no reason how a dead lock could occur.
    does any one have any idea. could it be something else that is locking up resource used by this procedure?

CREATE PROCEDURE topcat.getNewContactInfo
    (
    @contact_id int
    )
    AS
    BEGIN
    begin transaction

declare @id int

set @id = (SELECT TOP 1 _id FROM class_contact WHERE (status IS NULL OR status='New Contact' OR status = 'No Connect' OR status='callback') AND (checked_in IS NULL OR checked_in <> 1) AND (callback_date >= (getdate() + 1) OR callback_date IS NULL ) ORDER BY priority DESC)

UPDATE class_contact SET checked_in = 1 WHERE _id = @id
    SELECT TOP 1 * FROM class_contact
    WHERE _id = @id

commit
    END
    GO

wat i dont' get is that, this procedure only has one update statement, this is the only statement that could possibly hold a lock on another resource (i think) , i can't see how a dead lock can happen in this case since this procedure doesn't hold up 2 resources at a time.

James

Put option (nolock) on your select statement.

Thank you

I hope it works. I have checked it out in books online and according to that, what you suggest should resolve our dead lock issue.

Cheers

James

dont begin your transactions until you are ready to actually change the data.

try this instead of nolock. see if it works.

CREATE PROCEDURE topcat.getNewContactInfo
    (
    @contact_id int
    )
    AS
    BEGIN

declare @id int