Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    25

    Unanswered: Changing printers for reports

    Well this does seem a tricky one - I need to create a pdf of a report and the way I have approached it is to use Paperport, which allows you to select its printer driver in the print dialog and goes away and does it for you.

    But it seems that for Access 2k and before selecting the printer programmatically is a real bind. I've tried doing it but got in a real pickle - does anyone have some nice code which might do it? Or any alternative suggestions? There's always SendKeys but I can't even get that working at the moment - just one of those days.

    Any reason why SendKeys "^P" shouldn't bring up the print dialog?

    Any help would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: Changing printers for reports

    Originally posted by andysiant
    Well this does seem a tricky one - I need to create a pdf of a report and the way I have approached it is to use Paperport, which allows you to select its printer driver in the print dialog and goes away and does it for you.

    But it seems that for Access 2k and before selecting the printer programmatically is a real bind. I've tried doing it but got in a real pickle - does anyone have some nice code which might do it? Or any alternative suggestions? There's always SendKeys but I can't even get that working at the moment - just one of those days.

    Any reason why SendKeys "^P" shouldn't bring up the print dialog?

    Any help would be much appreciated.
    Have you tried using CutePDF? It makes a print spooler that shows as a print device ... You can set it as the default printer if necessary ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    25

    Re: Changing printers for reports

    No but Paperport does exactly the same thing. I don't really want to set it as the default device because presumably this will mean that all other applications will have this as default too - I only want to set it as default for this report.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: Changing printers for reports

    Originally posted by andysiant
    No but Paperport does exactly the same thing. I don't really want to set it as the default device because presumably this will mean that all other applications will have this as default too - I only want to set it as default for this report.
    You can't set it as a default for a single report ... Are you using the print preview? I think you can specify the printer to print to when you design the report ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    25
    So you can!!! Brilliant, thanks! BTW do you have any idea why my SendKeys line isn't working?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Originally posted by andysiant
    So you can!!! Brilliant, thanks! BTW do you have any idea why my SendKeys line isn't working?
    Yes ... In order to use the "special" characters "+", "^", "~", or "%" you need to enclose them with {} brackets ... The help file explains this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •