Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: using DTS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    19

    Unanswered: using DTS

    I'm working on creating a test database on our server which will have the same column names as a current database.

    Our programmer wants this test database to work on some issues with our programs and SQL Server performance issues between two diffrent domain.

    What I want to do is copy all tables from one database into the new test database but without the data; just the column names.

    can i do this with DTS or is there another way of performing this task. When i imported the tables from one database into the test all the data came over of course. I did not see an option to not include the data unless I'm over looking something.

    Thanks

    The SQL Rookie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    How big is the database?

    I'd dump and restore.....
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Brett, he/she wants just the structure, not the data.

    You can just script the schema from EM and paste it in QA.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    96
    If the database is no big you can use DTS to copy tables and next use truncate table

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Using DTS is over kill. Right click on the db in the Enterprise Manager -> All Tasks -> Generate SQL Script...

    Pick what you want included in your test version of the database....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    565
    Use the DTS Import\Export Wizard

    start -- run type "dtswiz" enter
    select your source db
    select you destination db
    check "copy objects and data between sql server databases
    clear the copy data check box
    clear the copy all objects check box
    click select objects and choose the objects you want
    continue with the dts import export wizard and create a package that you can reuse.

    the you can use it as a prototype and modify it to suit your exact needs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Scott does DTS...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    565
    I really dig dts.
    as a matter of fact rdjabarov i'm teaching a 5 day dts class in about 2 weeks
    you could show up and net send everyone into a stupor.

    Hee Hee

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •