Unanswered: help for this web designer.... point me in the right direction, please?

hi! your help is really appreciated! I'm just a graphic web designer with no knowledge of databases. Can you lead me in the right direction?

A client of mine wants a site where members can log in with a username and password and then see their user information. This user information is originally inputted by the site's owner, maybe through Excel or something.

Essentially, I need to have a member page. The member goes to the page, enters his username and his password. Then the next page creates an HTML page on-the-fly with all their information that is pulled from some type of database.

What do I use for this to happen? As a web designer, I have the least knowledge of database programming. Any advise as to where I can begin? What does this involve?

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!!!!

Thanks,
    Amanda

Smile

In order to pull off what you want to do, you need to learn or hire someone who knows a scripting language like ASP, ASP.NET, php, perl to write the module and incorporate it into your html page design.

FYI:
    Be aware that you can use mySQL as the database, but if the website makes any revenue, then you must purchase a $495 commercial license.

RE: help for this web designer

Thanks for your reply. That points me in the right direction.

Can you program something like this. Can you provide a range of how much it would cost to do? I need to see if my client can even afford it.

Also, if someone were to write it in ASP, ASP.NET, php, or perl, do you still utilize mySQL? Or, is that something different? Is it either/or? Also, is mySQL easy to utilize if I have no background in that language?

Thanks for you patience. I need to make sure I'm on the right track!

Regards,
    Amanda

Originally posted by MrBuzz