Unanswered: Using FileMaker as a pass through

I'm using FileMaker 6.0 pro. I'd like to create a WEB page where a client can make a selection from IE that will create a comma delimited extract of a set of records from a mainframe database and store that on a local (to FileMaker server) windows share. I can access the mainframe datasource via ODBC, and can get to it from FileMaker. I'm new to FileMaker so please excuse my ignorance. Can I use FileMaker to provide the browser functionality and generate a comma separated file from the mainframe ODBC source saving it as well for me ?

Thanks ... Chris

Re: Using FileMaker as a pass through

Originally posted by cconover
    I'm using FileMaker 6.0 pro. I'd like to create a WEB page where a client can make a selection from IE that will create a comma delimited extract of a set of records from a mainframe database and store that on a local (to FileMaker server) windows share. I can access the mainframe datasource via ODBC, and can get to it from FileMaker. I'm new to FileMaker so please excuse my ignorance. Can I use FileMaker to provide the browser functionality and generate a comma separated file from the mainframe ODBC source saving it as well for me ?

Thanks ... Chris

Yes, this wouldn't be a big deal. FileMaker will do this without the aid of third party products, but if I were to take the project, I would likely use a plug-in like Troi File or Waves in Motion FileTools to give me the ability to dynamically create folders and filenames.

You will need to use Custom 'CDML' to perform these tasks, Instant Web Publishing doesn't give you enough control. What version of FileMaker are you using?

thanks,

Joe

Re: Using FileMaker as a pass through