data modeling? ER model or UML

Hello:

I'm new to data modeling. I have some experience of creating ER model. And a little about UML modeling.

I'm going to a new job as a DBA.

What tool should I use?
    Should a DBA learn ER modeling or UML modeling?
    If the developer group use Rational rose, should the data analyst use Rational Rose too?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Re: data modeling? ER model or UML

Originally posted by xcao
    What tool should I use?
    Should a DBA learn ER modeling or UML modeling?
    Tools should not matter. It's just a way of representing the conceptual design.
    Well .... dba .... the role totally depends on the company/job reqs. I have seen places where the dba is just ment for database and nothing beyond it. And I have seen places where the developer himself creates/specifies the dba specs.

Good luck !

tool

Thank you. But what is the best data modeling tools.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Re: tool

From what I've seen, UML doesn't add anything useful to data modelling - nor was it originally intended to, it is for OO software design primarily. But a way to emulate ERDs in UML has been kludged up, and fads being what they are it's probably as well to know it!

UML or ER for data modelling

I have been a data modeller for many years. I have looked at UML as a tool for data modelling but it does not seem to add much. I have also looked at Rational Rose as a data modelling tool. My feeling is that you can use it as a data modelling tool, using the class diagram for the logical level, but that it is a clumsy tool compared to tools such as ERwin. I am not convinced that there is any particular benefit in using it even if the rest of the application is being designed using Rational Rose, but if it is a company standard go ahead and try. I am not particularly happy with the assumption that a class equals a table - it is certainly not a restriction that one should be rigid about.