Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58

    Unanswered: paste 1 word to 2000 records

    Hello,

    I have inserted a new column in my db, which has approx 2000 records. Now I need to paste a word in every record of this new field. I started copying and pasting but it is taking for ever.

    Is there a way to dump one word in the condition field of every record in one go.


    I was thinking of maybe creating a query and adding some code to the criteria section?

    Thanksin advance

    neil

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kingsland, Georgia
    Posts
    231

    Re: paste 1 word to 2000 records

    just make an update query and have it put the word in the field and run it. take you 10 seconds.


    Originally posted by neoice
    Hello,

    I have inserted a new column in my db, which has approx 2000 records. Now I need to paste a word in every record of this new field. I started copying and pasting but it is taking for ever.

    Is there a way to dump one word in the condition field of every record in one go.


    I was thinking of maybe creating a query and adding some code to the criteria section?

    Thanksin advance

    neil

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58

    Re: paste 1 word to 2000 records

    Just been playing some more and I could actually use the find and replace command. The only problem is, what do you use for a space?

    I want to search for a space in the condition field and replace with a new word.
    I have tried using the space key and " ", and "" but to no avail.

    Thanks

    Neil

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Seriously, that's WAY to much work.

    Use the UPDATE statement like jmahaffie mentioned. Otherwise your basically trying to dig a big hole with a dinner spoon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    I have a quick and easy solution.

    input that word into an excel spreadsheet.

    Copy it to the 2000th row. by clicking and dragging the bottom right corner of the cell.

    select all of those cells.

    in access select the whole column then press ctrl + v

    That should work.
    If it doesnt or you have problems let me know... I have done the exact same thing before many many times.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    Could somebody tell me how to use the update statement?

    thanks

    Neil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    I have a quick and easy solution.

    input that word into an excel spreadsheet.

    Copy it to the 2000th row. by clicking and dragging the bottom right corner of the cell.

    select all of those cells.

    in access select the whole column then press ctrl + v

    That should work.
    If it doesnt or you have problems let me know... I have done the exact same thing before many many times.

    JS
    That's still to much work.

    UPDATE yourTable
    SET yourField = "whatever"

    Done.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Teddy and the other guy seem to have a quicker solution. The reason I offered mine is because I have up to this point in my databasing barely used the update query function. (I am not one to try much new stuff when I have a way of working it reasonably quick and efficient)

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    I didnt see your thing till after I posted


    Originally posted by Teddy
    That's still to much work.

    UPDATE yourTable
    SET yourField = "whatever"

    Done.
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    Teddy and the other guy seem to have a quicker solution. The reason I offered mine is because I have up to this point in my databasing barely used the update query function. (I am not one to try much new stuff when I have a way of working it reasonably quick and efficient)

    JS
    Heh, make friends with the UPDATE query my good sir, you'll thank yourself later.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58
    look, I am sorry but I do not understand what you mean when you say update your table?

    sorry!

    thanks

    neil

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Kingsland, Georgia
    Posts
    231

    Re: paste 1 word to 2000 records

    Originally posted by jmahaffie
    just make an update query and have it put the word in the field and run it. take you 10 seconds.
    go to the queries section and create a new on in design mode. add the table you need. double-click the field you need to fill. go up to QUERY on the menubar, and go to "Update Query". now in the spot that says "Update To" below your field and table name, type the word you want to fill the table. click the exclamation mark at the top or go to QUERY on the menubar and down to RUN. all set!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    58

    Wink Re: paste 1 word to 2000 records

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Super fast.

    Thanks very much indeed.

    Kind regards,

    Neil

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •