Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6

    Question Unanswered: Reports sometimes display BLANK

    I have several reports in an Access 2000 database.

    The reports are based on a query that includes a value from a form as one of it's parameters.

    E.G. Select * from foo where foo_id=[Forms]![frmMain]![foo_id]

    At SOME times, the reports will come up BLANK.
    If you close and come back a few minutes later, the report will load.

    This is a distributed MDE application, with multiple users.

    I thought at first this might be some sort of locking issue.
    However, I have not been able to replicate the problem based on a locking theory. (open the "foo_id" record on the form, report still loads Ok, have another copy of the report open, report still loads OK, etc.)

    The next thing I'm going to try is removing the query parameter and instead filtering the report
    (E.G. DoCmd.OpenReport "rptFoo", acViewPreview,,"([foo_id]=3)")

    However, I'm not getting warm fuzzies about modifying the app on the CHANCE that it might fix this problem. I'd rather know the absolute CAUSE and proven SOLUTION before I proceed.

    Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Abigail

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    My knee-jerk reaction is your [foo_id] value was not found in the query, and therefore you returned no values..

    Are you absolutely positive the value being passed is valid and is returning 1 or more records?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    The form has to be open at the time the value is being 'grabbed'. I dont know that, that is the problem but I thought I would suggest it.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6
    The form value is a drop-down that only offers valid entries.
    The query should (and does usually) return a record

    In other words, if the query is the problem, it's some sort of locking or data access issue, not a flaw in the query itself.

    This is a random sort of a problem. One person will try to load it and it comes up blank. Wait a few minutes or try from a different machine, and it loads properly.

    Driving me mad....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6
    The form remains open the entire time.

    wish it were that easy!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Have you noticed that maybe it only does that on a certain Windows Version? Or anything like that, that would make it seem a bit less random?

    Also if the same person waits a bit on the same machine and tries it again will it work then?

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •