Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: User Plugin

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    14

    Question Unanswered: User Plugin

    I need to add user management to a Access02 project I'm doing. I was wondering if anyone knew of a solution out their that might "plug-in" to mine. I hate reinventing the wheel.

    Thanks
    Keith

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Describe User Management in more detail please.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    14
    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    Describe User Management in more detail please.

    JS
    User login primarily. Access rights to forms

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Access has its own. It is a workgroup thing. I would make a backup copy of your database because once you create you own workgroup and join it, it is hard to get back out.

    Tools>Security>Workgroup Administrator...

    Click Create to create a new one then join it.

    I hope this helps. If you need any more details please ask.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    14
    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    Access has its own. It is a workgroup thing. I would make a backup copy of your database because once you create you own workgroup and join it, it is hard to get back out.

    Tools>Security>Workgroup Administrator...

    Click Create to create a new one then join it.

    I hope this helps. If you need any more details please ask.

    JS
    That's great. Will I be able to log access to the database? Is there a variablethat I can grab to insert into modified records so I know who is making changes and when?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Yea. CurrentUser() is the current user. The when part you have to kinda make up on your own as far as I know. (atleast I did)

    I put a function in every fields Change() event to set the WhoChange to CurrentUser and the DateChange to DateTime.Date

    Keep in mind that, that only keeps track of the most recent change. I dont know of any other way to do it right now.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    14

    Talking

    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    Yea. CurrentUser() is the current user. The when part you have to kinda make up on your own as far as I know. (atleast I did)

    I put a function in every fields Change() event to set the WhoChange to CurrentUser and the DateChange to DateTime.Date

    Keep in mind that, that only keeps track of the most recent change. I dont know of any other way to do it right now.

    JS
    Never heard of WhoChange. Newbie here. Is that internal or do you have a column WhoChange for each column in your database?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Oh sorry the WhoChange and DateChange are fields I add to every table to track that information.
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    14

    Talking

    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    Oh sorry the WhoChange and DateChange are fields I add to every table to track that information.
    So you tracking is not at a field level but at a record level. In other words, you don't track what changed just that a field in the record changed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    557
    Yea as of right now. If you are going to track who changed and what they changed you would need atleast one if not two or three more tables to keep all the information organized.

    JS
    Have you ever thought about thinking on purpose?

    Jarvis Stubblefield
    Patriot Designs
    Web/Database Development and Consulting
    The-Patriot.net by Patriot Designs

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    14
    Originally posted by JSThePatriot
    Yea as of right now. If you are going to track who changed and what they changed you would need atleast one if not two or three more tables to keep all the information organized.

    JS
    Excellent. Thanks for your feedback!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •