Unanswered: replication question

I am a replication newbie so bear with me .

1. I want to add another table to an existing replication . Table has been created on Pub and Sub . How do I add it to the publication of 10 existing published table ?
    - Do I disable the Distribution agent for those 10 tables , add this 11th table and re enable the agent ?

Please help

Thanks

Provided Answers: 54
    My solution has always been to just create a new publication until I can declare down time to consolidate the publications. That way I don't need to declare downtime just to add a table.

When you are going to declare downtime anyway:

1) Stop all end user access!
    2) Drop the old publications
    3) Create a new publication that combines the old publications
    4) Allow user access again

When you create the new publication, you can do it without forcing the initial snapshot. On small databases (under 10 Gb) it doesn't make much difference, but on larger databases that snapshot can take quite a while.

-PatP

So

So Only way to do it is Either create a new publication or RECreate the whole publication (which is impossible almost !..) The Publishing datbase is 6 Gb but i subscribing to an Archive which is 280Gb . Informastion is very Critical and too risky to drop existing Pub and recreate it.

We have a very similar environment as Pat has described.

We don't do snapshot either. We announce the downtime first, pause the publisher server on time, make sure no transactions can occur on all subscribers. Then drop subscribers, drop the article(s) that need schema change, or simply add a new article, and lastly, push to all subscribers, continue servers.

Your scenario is kind of straight forward. Use sp_add_article to add the new table in the publication. No need to drop the whole pub. If you 're not sure about all those parameters, script out from the publication and use the command in it as a template.

Provided Answers: 54

Re: So

Originally posted by aashu