Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    79

    Unanswered: Database restoration problem

    Hey,

    I am facing problem while trying to restore.

    Let me describe the scenario:

    I downloaded a backup from a development box.

    I am trying to restore it in an another instance.

    This is the message I get.

    # time db2 "restore database xpsdb from /usr/local/dba/dump/pdid119/"
    SQL0970N The system attempted to write to a read-only file. SQLSTATE=55009

    real 0m2.13s
    user 0m0.01s
    sys 0m0.08s

    Can some one make sense of this message? Is there any file that restore updates during the process?

    If you observe the time output, it comes out immediately.

    Any help appreciated.

    Rgds,
    Naveen.
    Naveen Urs
    DBA Manager
    IBM Certified Solutions Expert - DB2 LUW V7, V9

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650

    Re: Database restoration problem

    You'll have to do a redirected restore ...

    http://www-106.ibm.com/search/search...earchScope=db2

    Cheers
    Sathyaram


    Originally posted by urs_77
    Hey,

    I am facing problem while trying to restore.

    Let me describe the scenario:

    I downloaded a backup from a development box.

    I am trying to restore it in an another instance.

    This is the message I get.

    # time db2 "restore database xpsdb from /usr/local/dba/dump/pdid119/"
    SQL0970N The system attempted to write to a read-only file. SQLSTATE=55009

    real 0m2.13s
    user 0m0.01s
    sys 0m0.08s

    Can some one make sense of this message? Is there any file that restore updates during the process?

    If you observe the time output, it comes out immediately.

    Any help appreciated.

    Rgds,
    Naveen.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    79
    Thanks Satyaram, I realized that. Actually, I forgot to check the db2diag.log. I was checking it and found that it was trying to assign the containers with the instance name of the backup.

    Yep, at this point in time I was actually doing the redirect restore.

    I am putting the db2diag.log entry so that it will help people who might face similar problems.

    2004-04-17-20.52.42.122717 Instancedid119 Node:000
    PID:17832(db2bm.7741.0) Appid:none
    buffer_pool_services sqlbDMSAddContainerRequest Probe:805

    Error acquiring container 0 (/db/pddd242/xpsdb/NG00TS0A/c000) for tbsp 1. Rc = FFFFC601


    Another question...

    I was wondering how badly does db cfg parameter trackmod affect the database performance for a DMS tablespace database? I came to know that it tracks each extent that is being modified. Has anyone implemented it in a production environment and if so, what kind of an OLTP environment is it (Low, Medium or High transaction DB)?

    I am testing out the incremental backup and the related restore. Can you share your experiences with it?

    Rgds,
    Naveen.
    Naveen Urs
    DBA Manager
    IBM Certified Solutions Expert - DB2 LUW V7, V9

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL, USA
    Posts
    96
    Naveen,

    check you file system permisions.

    if need , change to RW permision. & try it .

    to clone DB , you can do 4 ways.


    1 . redirect restore

    restore sorce DB & target DB
    set tablespace containers.
    restore continue

    generally people use this one , to clone DBs

    2. db2relocatedb
    single step

    need to define confi file
    source , instance, db , db_path etc.
    db2relocatedb -f configfile

    this can be used to rename DB, change tablespace containers path etc..

    3. by using db2look , runstats , export, load

    this can be used to clone whole DB, part DB ( like some tables , some schema)

    4. create DB from backup , from control center,

    this is just 3 clicks.

    this will do same as redirect restore, but this only clicks

    let me know , if you need more info.






    for you other question,


    to implement increametal & delta backup , trackmod need to turned, other wise DB2 doenn't know , what pages changed.

    I implemented increamental, Delta backup

    R U try to setup cronjob for backup ?

    Let me know if you need script to implement incremetal & delta backup.


    also I posted may be 3 week ago , different DB backup & their use.


    see that.


    Lekharaju Ennam
    Certified Oracle8i & DB2 UDB DBA
    Florida A&M Univeristy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    79
    Hi Lekharaju,

    I realize trackmod cfg parameter makes the db monitor at the extent level. But my problem is that I cannot figure out what will be the cpu impact and the overall performance of the database when trackmod is switched on.

    At this point I am testing the incremental and the delta backups.
    We are planning to implement the incremental backup into the production database which is a "critical 1" database.
    An average amount of connection during the peak time is around 100 connections.
    It presently works on a 10K Sun SPARC machine.
    The database is around 185GB.
    Its a 24/7 database.
    It contains around 85 tablespaces.
    An average table consists of around 5 million records.
    I am trying to emulate the production scenario with a 5 GB database.


    You have specified that you have implemented the incremental backup. How badly does trackmod parameter affect your database?

    If anybody has any inputs on the same, I will truly appreciate it.

    Rgds,
    Naveen.
    Naveen Urs
    DBA Manager
    IBM Certified Solutions Expert - DB2 LUW V7, V9

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    513
    According to the Admin Guide (Performance), TRACKMOD has a "Low" performance impact.

    I haven't benchmarked it myself, but I believe all it's doing is setting bits here and there to indicate what's been touched, I don't expect it's all that expensive.
    --
    Jonathan Petruk
    DB2 Database Consultant

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    79
    Just putting an update:

    After doing my analysis and running the database with TRACKMOD parameter, I have seen that the resource utilization is low.
    Naveen Urs
    DBA Manager
    IBM Certified Solutions Expert - DB2 LUW V7, V9

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL, USA
    Posts
    96
    check your file system permisions, this is file permision issue

    let me know , if any questions

    --
    Lekharaju Ennam
    Lekharaju Ennam
    Certified Oracle8i & DB UDB DBA
    Florida A&M University

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •