Thread: Export/Import

Wink Unanswered: Export/Import

I'm a DBA new to Informix, but have been thrown into it with a baptism of fire...

I have a client that is setup with a production server that is backed up each night and restored into development each night using a perl script and Informix "on" commands. Due to space constraints on the development server, they would like to perform the restore of the production database by only restoring about 80% of the tables into development.

I have a myriad of ways I could do this in Oracle, SqlServer or Sybase, but how do you do this in Informix? Is it possible? I see references to importing and exporting with Informix, but can not locate any specific commands.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    K Tjarks.

Re: Export/Import

Originally posted by kjtjarks
    I'm a DBA new to Informix, but have been thrown into it with a baptism of fire...

I have a client that is setup with a production server that is backed up each night and restored into development each night using a perl script and Informix "on" commands. Due to space constraints on the development server, they would like to perform the restore of the production database by only restoring about 80% of the tables into development.

I have a myriad of ways I could do this in Oracle, SqlServer or Sybase, but how do you do this in Informix? Is it possible? I see references to importing and exporting with Informix, but can not locate any specific commands.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    K Tjarks.
    Hi,

Why don't you look at dbexport / dbimport commands

Regards,

lloyd

Thanks Lloyd, that was the simple command info I needed to place me out in the world of web searching again!
    Thank you so much!
    K. Tjarks

Cool JBourne

I have cut and pasted my responce to an earlier quiry but thought you might find it less labouriouse than trawling through manuals...