Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Learning to be a DBA--suggestions?

Hi Guys,

Well, as a VB/VBA applications developer I'm not well prepared for this, but it looks like I will be riding herd on a production SQL Server.

TSQL I know well enough to get along, but where can I get a fast fix on all the logins, security, and process management info? Today we had a DTS package crash overnight and it took me forever to figure out that it had left half a dozen tables locked. (Note that the scripts for the DTS package are being re-written as we speak with use of transactions and NOLOCK.) Meanwhile tech support was handling a whole mess of grumpy users.

Are there any books you would recommend as resources/references? Is there a particular author who is good at writing the stuff you really need to know in English that can be read by a mere mortal like I? I am fond of the Microsoft resources/help files but I'd like to have somthing that holds highlighter and post-it flags a bit better. Not to mention something that focuses more on the beast as a whole rather than the minutia at length.

Thanks for any suggestions!

1. Good luck
    2. Don't use NoLock
    3. Buy a lot of books
    4. How many DTS Packages?
    5. DTSing directly in to live tables? I'd use a staging environment
    6. Did you install the sql server client side tools?
    7. Find someone to blame
    8. Welcome to the club
    9. Good Luck
    Brett
    8-)

It's a Great Day for America everybody!

dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

"The Guru's" series By "Ken Henderson" ... get a hold of it ASAP and read it from cover to cover ...

Another I would recommend is "MS Press- SQL Server 2000 Administrators Companion" ...
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

1. Good Luck
    9. Good Luck