Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48

    Unhappy Unanswered: My database can't be opened, because it's suspect or option 'For Load'

    Hello,

    Indeed, I can't access to my database of one of my servers. An error message says : "The database <database name> was created for Load or is suspect. It cannot be opened."

    How can I do to solve this problem ?
    In my opinion, I can do that only with command lines.


    -> My Sybase ASE 11.5 runs on Win NT 4

    Thanks !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    140
    It seems that your database was created with "for load" option,
    in this case you need to load the dump prior to any kind of operation on the db

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48

    Help !

    I haven't solved yet my problem with my databases created on 'For Load' option. Now, I can't access to them !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    207
    Can you pls. provide more info. on -

    - Did you create the database with for load option?

    OR

    - You were able to load the database and now you cannot access? If yeas, pls. provide exact error message(s).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    I open our database server today Jan 21 2004. After that I open my computer and run the sybase central to check some columns in our database. I click on our database then sybase central ask username and password so enter everything. It connects but when I try to click on our database The system prompt en error like this "The database <database name> was created for Load or is suspect. It cannot be opened.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    207
    Let's try one more thing...

    Can you pls. provide "select * from sysdatabases" for that particular database which is causing the problem?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48

    select * from sysdatabases ;

    I have run this command on the serve.

    Results :

    1> select * from sysdatabases
    2> go
    name dbid suid status version logptr
    crdate dumptrdate status2
    audflags deftabaud defvwaud defpraud def_remote_type
    def_remote_loc


    archive 5 1 332 1 6244796
    Aug 8 2002 11:21AM Oct 17 2002 3:25PM 49
    0 0 0 0 NULL
    NULL


    donateur 7 1 332 1 6408305
    Aug 8 2002 2:24PM Jan 9 2003 12:27PM 49
    0 0 0 0 NULL
    NULL


    donateur_bis 6 1 332 1 5019092
    Aug 8 2002 1:34PM Nov 20 2001 10:02AM 49
    0 0 0 0 NULL
    NULL

    I have just reported the databases that I can't open !
    Thx in advance !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    207
    This is getting interesting, because I don't see any combination from reference manual that can sum upto 332. And 49 in status2 field states database is offline. Two more thing to look into...

    1. try online database command on the database.
    2. post exact create database statements used, because from the output you should be having problems with all user databases.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    I join you database creation script !
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    207
    After following same steps with different size, I get status value of 12 and status2 value of -32767, which is good. Now, is there anyway we can do dump and load of anyone of these small databases to another dev/test server where we can change the status filed and play with it?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    48
    I think not !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •