Unanswered: Mounting Point (I'm lost)

Hello, my company recently purchased a software that stores data to an oracle database. The 2 copies of the software are loaded on two different networked computers. I was told that I can have both computers store to the same computer's oracle database by changing the mounting point. I have no idea how to do this but was told I had to (I am a SQL DBA). Can someone please give me the steps to do this so both computers are storing in the same place?

Thank you,
    Katie Forster

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    Nothing is impossible for the person who doesn't have to do it!

While technically speaking it can be done, you really don't want to go there (RAC)! The only way to get more than one computer system to access the same set of Oracle datafiles is to build a CLUSTER; which is non-trival by a couple orders of magnitude.

The problem is coordinating changes to the DB between the two systems.
    The basic problem is if two folks on the two systems wants to change the same record to have different values is who wins. Who/what decides which value(s) end up in the database file?

Tell Damagement that it can't be done.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

do I understand correctly?

the application software has been installed on two node and both nodes should use one oracle database instance SID in the backend?

then configure the client's tnsnames.ora file to use the same SID.

or are you going to implement RAC Real Application Cluster to use two Oracle Instances from two nodes to share everything (all the Oracle files )??? and run the application software from far more clients than the two mentioned?