Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85

    Exclamation Unanswered: oh Lord WHy oh why u make it hard

    ok im stuggling here okay i made a command button when i click it i want it to search a field in a database i have then display the whole record


    Code for button


    Private Sub Command99_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_Command99_Click


    Screen.PreviousControl.SetFocus
    DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 10, , acMenuVer70

    Exit_Command99_Click:
    Exit Sub

    Err_Command99_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_Command99_Click

    End Sub


    what do i do?

    lets call the database Drivers
    the search Field Suburb

    display record in a text box or in a combo box


    help me please, the boss thinks im smart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    77
    have u tried to use filtering? might be easier

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85
    can u explain a bit more im what they say simple

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    77
    u are trying to search for a particular record in a mountain of records rite?
    how bout u do it by creating a text box for the user to type in what he/she wants then filter the records using the criteria the user typed in? Use the ApplyFilter function.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85
    i cant find the apply filter button

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85
    okay i have a combo box with the list of records how do i show one of them easy on the form, im running out of time

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85
    here is a copy if the link works

    i want the combo box with the information to be put on the form
    a seach button where i put in the suburb would be great too
    Last edited by jessy; 09-28-04 at 04:10.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85
    better explanation the combobox thats on the form with all the drivers details i want to be able to select one row by entering a suburb in a field and it finds it, or i manually choose it and it gets displayed in another box. as you can see all i can get is one field from the row displayed
    well if you fix it ill owe you one

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    77
    I did not have ur Excel file. ur attachment does not work without that file!!! Another thing is that, why not store all the driver's details in the same Access application? It will be much more easy to work with. Further more I am not very familiar working with Excel thru Access.
    Last edited by chanjw; 04-29-04 at 09:23. Reason: missed out details

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85
    i have converted the Excel File into a Access Table already but i cant get the row selected on the form to be displayed anywhere and also i cant work out how to use a search button on the form

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    77
    do it something like this. I have edited and showed some example of what u might want to do. The form that I have edited is the bookings form. U should be opening Form1. I have also slightly edited ur Table1. One more thing, ApplyFilter is a function, not a button.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    85

    HMMmmm

    yeah well you see on your version you select a field
    Test1 Test2 Test3

    but after selecting you only see Test1 in the box
    i want it to display the whole row
    Test1 Test2 Test3

    and somewhere on the form or the same box will be ok


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    77
    the test1, test2, and test3 are actually the Delivery Area of ur Mini Tankers. After u have selected one of the areas, you can type in the details in the subform and save it. if u want to add more details into the combo box, u'll have to edit what goes into it. the way i did it will let the user to browse the different entry for the same delivery area.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •