Unanswered: SQL 6.5 Backup Question

First off, I have Zero experience on a SQL 6.5 Server, please be patient with me if these are dumb questions.

We have a SQL 6.5 Server running on a Windows NT (SP5) server on our network. I have been told to monitor this server, but not to do too much with it. In theory, it should be going away sometime soon, but I'm not going to hang my hat on that theory. My questions relate to backups on this server.

Problem #1. Backup job fails
    According to the entry in SQL Executive, there is one scheduled job to backup the single production user database. It has failed more or less continuously. It appears that this failure is because the server caanot write to the shared folder to which it is attempting to back up. In the event log, I see an error indicating that the file could not be opened due to Access being Denied (Error 5).

Problem #2. Backup Succeeds, but where?
    Perusing the Windows EventLog (this is Windows NT4), I see entries indicating that all the databases on the server are being backed up daily. The events all occur at more or less the same time of the day. The SQL Error Log entry is:

DATABASE dumped with the following info: Database name: tempdb, Creation Date and Time: NULL(NULL), Pages dumped: 64, Current Sequence: 38103 18667167, Sort Order: 52, Striped:NO, Number of Dump Devices: 1, device infoVOLID=NULL NAME=\\.\pipe\dbasql60\dbagent0s0 TYPE=NMPIPE FILE=1)

I see a similar entry in the NT log file.

I also know the following information:
    1. The SQL Server and SQL Executive accounts are both set up to run under local system.
    2. There is not enough room on the local drive to backup the production database.

So several questions:
    1. How can I backup to a shared drive on another server? Do I have to configure SQL to run under a Domain User account?

2. Where is the backup job(s) in #2 above running from? I see no entry in SQL Executive and there is no entry under scheduled tasks for the NT box.