Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Quick question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150

    Unanswered: Quick question

    i just cant remember how to freeze a few rows on top so that when i scroll, they stay there....

    any help?

    thanks!
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,091
    Select the cell that will be the upper left of what you want to see (i.e. C10), then

    Windows > Freeze Panes
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

    Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

    How to ask a question on forums

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150
    isnt there another way? Selecting the cells i want to freeze doesnt seem to have any effect, the sheet is simply split into four quadrants....

    what am i doing wrong?

    thanks!
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,091
    If you hit Freeze pane, then you are doing it correctly. If you want only the rows at the top (and no columns on the left) frozen. Then click a cell in column A (say A10). Then the top 10 rows will be frozen. Check by scrolling down.
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

    Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

    How to ask a question on forums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150
    what if i want only the three first rows to freeze? i'm pretty sure there is another way, just cant put my finger on it.....
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,091
    Then click in cell A4, and Windows > Freeze Pane
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

    Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

    How to ask a question on forums

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    153
    I think you've got your Windows Split. I have one of those too, but mine will cost $600 to fix; yours is as easy as goto Window-->Remove Split. You can freeze from there like Shades said.

    Hope that helps,

    Smitty

    (Heya Shades - How you doing?)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150
    thanks, got it to work.... just wasnt sure how to select the cells i wanted to freeze...


    Cheers!
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •