Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    68

    Angry Unanswered: SQL Table Linked to Access

    I'm using ODBC to link a SQL table to access and using Access as the frontend, so to speak. Trying to write a query, but I get Timeout Error.
    I need to resolve the timeout error, I've tried several things in the ODBC
    configuration, but no solution yet.
    thx
    jm
    Last edited by jmayo; 04-30-04 at 16:48.
    jm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4
    Have you tried creating a passthrough query instead of using linked tables?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    How much data are you bringing to your Access? Default query timeout is 60 seconds. But this includes the time needed for the server to retrieve all the data that meets the criteria (in your case it's SELECT * with no WHERE clause), write the result to the pipe (if named pipes or to the network if TCP/IP), and for the client to read it all. Pass-through is definitely gooder, because you can control the timeout, but again, - how much data?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    68
    The table contains approx 9 million records. It is linked using ODBC.The select with no where clause obviously works very quickly. As soon as we put a where clause it gives us the error. I haven't tried a pass through but will do next.
    jm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Did you try to have any indexes on the fields in the SELECT and WHERE clauses?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    68
    No Indexes
    jm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    If you're not trying to SELECT *, but rather a couple of fields, - then you can create an index that is comprised of all fields in SELECT and in WHERE. Else, at least put the fields from the WHERE clause into the index.
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    68
    I will try putting all fields in WHere as indexes on the SQL TABLE
    jm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •