Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24

    Angry Unanswered: HELP!!! Need to add a number col remotely

    I'm in a big bind and appreciate an answer as soon as possible. I've used one dbase to update another to add a column - I added a char column using

    alter table add fieldname char(50)

    my mind has shut down as to how I can make that an number, integer???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    45
    I believe the syntax is: alter table add fieldname integer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    Ok I can add a number, but how do I change it to be an Integer?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    Thanks, it adds it but it makes it a long integer... how can I make it be just an integer -- and thank you so much for posting so quickly - people are breathing down my neck.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    I can

    alter table add column integer

    and the table is added as a Number
    BUT NOW how can I change Field SIZE to Integer -- it is coming up Long Integer and that won't work in the app we are using.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    24
    IT IS FIXED !!! I had to identify it as a 'smallint'

    (it's always the little things in life).....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •